Pensive Blogs


  • Inner Line Permit (ILP) is an official travel document issued by the Government of India to allow inward travel of an Indian citizen into a protected area for a limited period.
  • It is an effort by the government to regulate movement to certain areas located near the international border of India.
  • It is obligatory for Indian citizens from outside those states to obtain a permit for entering into the protected state.


  • This is an offshoot of the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulations, 1873, which protected Crown’s interest in the tea, oil and elephant trade by prohibiting “British subjects” from entering into these “Protected Areas” (to prevent them from establishing any commercial venture that could rival the Crown’s agents).
  • Despite the fact that the ILP was originally created by the British to safeguard their commercial interests, it continues to be used in India, officially to protect tribal cultures in north-eastern India.

Type of ILPs:

  • There are different kinds of ILP’s, one for tourists and others for people who intend to stay for long-term periods, often for employment purposes.
  • ILP’s valid for tourism purposes are granted as a matter of routine.


Places where it is being used?

  • The system is in force today in three North-eastern states — Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Mizoram — and no Indian citizen can visit any of these states unless he or she belongs to that state, nor can he or she overstay beyond the period specified in the ILP.

Arunachal Pradesh

  • It is issued by the secretary (political) of the Government of Arunachal Pradesh.
  • It is required for entering Arunachal Pradesh through any of the check gates across the interstate border with Assam or Nagaland.
  • An ILP for temporary visitors is valid for 15 days and can be extended, while one for those taking employment in the state and their immediate family members is valid for a year.


  • It is issued by the Government of Mizoram.
  • It is required for entering Mizoram through any of the check gates across the inter-State borders.
  • a “Temporary ILP” is issued to visitors, which is valid for 15 days, and can be extended another 15 days, with the possibility of extending it to one month in exceptional circumstances.
  • with the sponsorship of a local resident or government department, a “Regular ILP” can be procured, which is valid for 6 months and can be renewed twice for another 6 months each.


  • It is issued by the Government of Nagaland. It is mandatory for Indian citizens of other states entering Nagaland through any of the check gates across the interstate borders.
  • Dimapur, Nagaland’s largest city and port head, is the only place in the state which does not require an ILP, and Indians arriving by air at Dimapur Airport can arrive and stay in the city without one.


Spread the love

Leave a Reply